Skip to main content

The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

Emma Russo-Savage works at Wallingford Public Library's Circulation Desk, runs the Game Night gatherings that take place in the Collaboratory twice a month, and is a great reader. Whenever I see her in the staff room on breaks, she is reading, and she is usually (but not always) happy to take a break from her book to tell me about it.  Emma has been stocking one quadrant of North Main Book Nook's Staff Picks display for the past two months, and she wrote the following review of a book she loves: 

"When we say 'the world has ended,' it's usually a lie, because the planet is just fine. But this is the way the world ends. This is the way the world ends. This is the way the world ends. For the last time." The Fifth Season (The Broken Early, Book #1), by N.K. Jemisin

Books that are written in the second person are few and far between - and books that manage to do this successfully are rarer still. Those particular fantasy books that require a glossary of terms just to understand can be equally hard to pull off, and feel frustratingly self-indulgent for requiring readers to memorize made-up words.

So, to to understand a recommendation of The Fifth Season, you have to realize that author N.K. Jemisin willingly employs both of these conceits - and her writing positively sings, as a result. The shared desperation and humanity of her characters is unavoidably present in every authorial choice she makes. 

The Fifth Season takes place in a world, ironically known as the Stillness, where change is a constant.  Fault-lines riddle the planet, earthquakes, volcanoes, and tsunamis continually destroy and remake the land, and the aftermath can be just as destructive as the actual event. These inevitable apocalypses, known as (fifth) seasons, mean that communities rarely make it out of the bronze age and must maintain rigid caste systems to ensure the survival of humanity. In all this chaos our main characters -- young, hopeful Damaya, jaded angry Syenite, and hardened, hollowed Essun -- all share a dangerous secret.  All three are orogenes, able to control the movements of the earth around them. Their kind are hated and feared by other humans, and when their abilities manifest, they are brutally enslaved so that their abilities can be used to create pockets of geographic safety.

Told through three shifting, cleverly overlapping perspectives, Jemisin’s The Fifth Season takes place at the start of the end of the world. The brilliantly imaginative world-building fades into the background in the face of each character’s fears and triumphs, and desperation and humanity in the face of unavoidable destruction and oppression, become real. In the end, both readers and characters are left with the question: When the world is ending, for the last time, who are you? And who will you become?

The Obelisk Gate (The Broken Earth, Book #2)
The Stone Sky (The Broken Earth, Book #3)


Popular posts from this blog

The 2018 Women's Prize for Fiction Longlist

March is Women's History Month, and Thursday, March 8th was International Women's Day. So it is timely and appropriate that the 2018 longlist for The Women's Prize for Fiction was released on Wednesday, March 7th. The Women's Prize for Fiction is an award that celebrates the best full-length fiction written each year by women. The idea for the Prize stemmed from the release of the 1991 Booker Prize shortlist, which did not include a single novel written by a woman. Although in the early 1990s, 60% of the novels published in the United Kingdom were written by women, by 1992 only 10% of the novelists ever to appear on the Booker Prize shortlist had been female The Women's Prize for Fiction was developed in response to this disparity. It was first awarded in 1996 (then known as the Orange Prize for Fiction) and is the United Kingdom's most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman.

The judging panel for The Women's Prize for Fiction is made…

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter is the season when nature lies dormant, when the light is at its low point, when the world seems dead. Ali Smith's captivating new novel, Winter, begins with an extraordinary list of all the things that are "dead," which seems to encompass everything -- "God was dead: to begin with," Smith writes, and not just God, but chivalry, history, the welfare state, neoliberalism, hope, TV, marriage, flowers, religion, the media, the internet and love. But if there is anything Winterisn't, it's dead. Like the rest of this wonderful novel, this list of supposedly dead things is filled with vitality, word play and teasing fun.

Ali Smith was born in Inverness, Scotland in 1962. She is the author of nine novels and five short story collections. Her first collection of short stories, Free Love and Other Stories, won the Saltire First Book Award in 1995. Her second novel, Hotel World, won three awards and was shortlisted for both the Orange Prize and the Man Bo…

A Sense of Place

Teresa Kristan remembers when the Wallingford Public Library was located down the block, where the Library Wine Bar and Bistro now holds pride of place at 60 North Main Street.  She remembers because she worked there and because her grandfather was a custodian for the library several decades ago. Teresa is an ardent baseball fan, so summer is an especially good time for her. She is both a Circulation Librarian and a Reference Librarian at the library, and she is one of the four library staff members currently stocking the Staff Picks display in the North Main Book Nook. Teresa's bio on the Staff Picks display includes this sentence: "If I could have read in the living womb, I would've, but the light was bad." She has a lot to say about books and reading, and she shares some thoughts below:

I was thinking about a different sense of place that I get when I read, not where the book or article is set, but where I am while I'm reading it.

There's a sweet children…